Monday, April 16, 2012

Words of Wisdom

Now that I have reached the old age of 19 I feel that I am entitle to give a few words of wisdom, so here they are; 'If you are in a foreign country and happened to be sad or homesick, eat chocolate or dulce de leche, which ever is closest' and 'Not all those who wander are lost'. Okay okay I stole the last one from JRR Tolkein, but remember the dulce de leche part, it works like a charm.
My birthday here in Argentina was great. Low key during the day and then I went out with my friends to celebrate at night. My birthdays are starting to feel very international. I was thinking about it the other day, I have celebrated birthdays in: Canada (obviously), Mexico (more than once), England, France and now Argentina! No big deal.
In other recent news, I have moved from my second host family back to my first host family. I decided to move since my second family was going to Mendoza for the Easter weekend, which also happened to be my birthday so I choose to change in order to stay in town. I'm farther away from the school now, and I have to bike there on my own which is quite sad but it's alright. Other then that just living the life here in Argentina!
Chau segundo familiaaaa <3

fwends + cake

face in cake. not cool.

WOOOOEEEE IM 19!!!!!

thank you mummy and daddykins :)

Friday, March 9, 2012

Goodbye Summer.

The Family.
who knew "going to the carnaval" actually meant "getting spray repeatedly in the face with foam"

just playing some cards. i'm probably losing..
dad's new love: asado
It seems that keeping a blog up to date isn't one of my strongest point; something that has apparently been noted by a number of people, most importantly by my mother. For the last few weeks every skype conversation included at some point, "Have you updated your blog yet Lara? A lot of people are asking about it" . So in an effort to please the masses and get my mother off my back, I am writing this blog summarizing everything that has happened in the last 3 months.
For the last 3 months I have been enjoying my first summer vacation of 2012. You would think that being on summer vacation would mean that I would have more time to blog, but the fact is vacations make you lazy and it seemed like every time I tried to write something I would end up on Facebook (a problem almost every single teenager can empathize with). I suppose the first event that I should mention is Christmas. Unlike many Canadian exchange students to the southern hemisphere, I am fairly used to warm Christmases. A couple of years in Mexico and a trip to New Zealand over the holidays have made a palm tree seem like a perfectly acceptable substitute to a pine. However here, like in Canada, they put up and decorate a pine tree although they are generally a little smaller and a lot faker. As the big day got closer and closer the weather started to get colder and colder. I'm not kidding, the 23rd was rainy and gross and by the 24th I was freezing. I spent the evening of the 24th with my host family, some of their friends, enormous quantities of food and a huge ass parka. Santa was nice enough to bring me a pair of blue flipflops and my mummy had planted a pair of Xmas socks in my suitcase before I even left Canada. Afterwards I headed off to celebrate with my friends ;)... Next up; New Year's. Pretty much was the exact same as Christmas without Santa and the parka (thank god). Once again copious amounts of food, I swear it's like these people never eat.
Unfortunately, the next couple of events aren't quite as cheerful nor food focused. The 4th of January quickly rolled around after New Year's which meant we (all my friends and I) piled into a little bus to accompany Josefina to the airport. She's now been to France for over 2 months and doing awesome, but we all miss her a lot :(. On the way home from the airport the second less-then-happy-event occurred. My boyfriend's father died. We were about 3 hours away from Los Toldos when it happened and as you can imagine it was a pretty solemn trip home. In retrospect it wasn't really a surprise that he died, he had been in and out of the hospital in the 5 previous days but in all honesty it shocked me when I found out he'd actually died. I have absolutely no experience with death. I'm lucky enough to have all my grandparents and all my other family members. I guess I'd convinced myself that yes people get sick but they'll always get better. So this was an enormous wake up call to say the least. I got back to Los Toldos around 12am that night and went straight to the funeral home. I was there until 9am, at which point we went to the church and then the cemetery. I've got to say, going to an Argentinian funeral was not something I expected to experience. 
The next few weeks passed, full of intense heat and numerous hours poolside. Sleeping until noon became the norm and saying out until 3am was just expected. Then, Beardsell family was reunited (actually that's a lie, Goosey got left behind, as did Humphrey :( ). Mum, Dad and Tess rolled into Los Toldos around 10:30pm on January 18th (the bus was late obviously). I was there to pick them up along with Jesus and my friends. I made them empenadas because I am SUCH AN AMAZING DAUGHTER. We hung out in LT for 5 days (I think), spending lots of time poolside and recovering from intense heat and then took a night bus to Mendoza. The trip was 12 hours but all at night so it went by pretty fast. The apartment parents rented in Mendoza was awesome. Super pretty and only a 15 minute walk into town. I think I can say that we all really enjoyed our time in Mendoza. The town is really pretty and quite a lot bigger than LT (obviously haha). Mum, Dad and I rented bikes one day and went to visit all the wineries. Well in all honesty we didn't go into a single one, apparently Mum and Dad have done enough wine tastings in their lives and it was stinking hot so we stopped for a beer instead haha. We rented a car for a couple of days and went up into the Andes (la cordillera). We rented a cute little cabana in this weird town that seemed to be completely void of people, although the owner of the cabanas told us that it fills up on the weekends. We were there two nights. I was sick (obviously). It really sucked. We went for a drive in the mountains; ended up in Chile. Ooooops. It was all good though because we didn't actually cross just went into some weird no man's land. I ended up walking across the border since I had to renew my visa so it worked out pretty well. Then we went back to Mendoza (I'm still sick as a dog), stayed another night and then went to spend a night at the house of people we met back in the Mexico days. They have been traveling for some insane amount of time like 19 years and finally decided to settle down in about an hour outside of the city of Mendoza. From there we went back to Mendoza and caught another night bus to Los Toldos. The fam stayed another night in LT and then caught the bus to Buenos Aires and then the plane home. It was definitely great to see them, I finally got a mummy-hug :). It was definitely sort of weird to see my whole family here in Los Toldos. But a good weird :). 
Since then, I have mostly just been here in LT. I went to the beach for a few days with my family, which was good but the weather was a little chilly. Oh the weather has been extremely bipolar. It is currently hot and humid, but it's been cold, windy, warm, rainy.. everything. Sooner or later it'll start snowing.. And now I have once again started going to school. This year I am going to the Escuela Normal, in the economics stream. I start classes at 7 or 730 and get out at 12 or 1. Yesterday was my first day since my counselor forgot to sign me up for school and then the teachers went on strike, but it looks like I'm going to have a full 5 day week next week. Ugh, que feo. We had two hours of English yesterday; the teacher asked everyone who studies English outside of school to raise their hand... I didn't know what to do, so I raised my hand. I think I'm going to like school a lot more this year, well I trying to convince myself that anyways. 
Well that's about it. Mummy I hope you're happy. 
going to the airport!
see ya sis. have funnn

i told you the trees were small

waiting for the bus. so friggin' lateeee
hand made by moi.
enjoying some mate.
couple of tourists... (mendoza)

brekky in Mendoza
mummy and tessy in Mendoza

epic bike shot
.....

the girls.


Sunday, December 11, 2011

Sweet Fifteen


Turning 15 is a big deal for girls here. Like a really BIG deal. It's the equivalent of turning 16 in North America more or less and is basically an excuse to throw a big party. I was invited, along with my host family, to a cumpleaños de quince on Saturday night. Honestly it was absolutely ridiculous. We got there at 10pm, left at 6am... The birthday girl wore a huge prom dress thing and a little tiara. Everything was decorated white and green and there were pictures of here EVERYWHERE. Activities included: dancing, some singer/entertainer guy, talking and eating. To be honest it was boring and I would have hated to be the birthday girl. So much attention, I think I wouldve gone crazy. To me the whole thing seemed a lot more like a wedding then a birthday party and in general a waste of money... But who am I to criticize?
Other then that, my December has so far included many lazy days at the pool, an end to school (finally), and a significant lack of sleep. I am changing host families this week and I am going to really, really miss this house. I feel like I'm moving away from home agin, but I atleast I'm only going 10 blocks away not to another continent.
home sweet home

pool timeeee. (me with milito :D )

Year end rotary meeting. (with Liana-USA and Dries- Beligium)

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Baby, it's 3am I must be... on a bus on to Buenos Aires.


I had to travel back to BA last weekend and then on to Uruguay to renew my visa. I could’ve renewed it at an office in BA but apparently the wait time is ridiculous and it’s really more fun to go on a trip. The bus to BA left Los Toldos at 2am, we arrived at 8:30am and then I took the ferry to Colonia, Uruguay at 12. Uruguay is BEAUTIFUL. I loved it. Ines (a lady from Rotary) and I spent 3 or so hours wandering around and having lunch. It was really lovely, I really enjoyed it J. Back in BA, Norberto and I spent the night at his cousin’s house and then caught a bus home the next day at 4pm. It was another 5 hour bus ride home, for most of which it rained, but that didn’t stop me from going out that night and coming home at 6:15am (oops). Anyways, the successful trip to Uruguay means I have 90 more days here in Argentina!!
In other news, I am sick and tired of school. Not only is it horribly boring, but the school is now insufferably hot AND the dress code does not allow shorts, tank tops, open toed shoes or skirts. WHAT THE HELL I'M 18 LET ME WEAR SHORTS TO SCHOOL. It's awful, I don't know how these kids do it. It's 30 degrees here with humidity; wearing jeans is basically child abuse. Luckily it will all be over muy pronto. I can't wait. We filled our little pool up yesterday afternoon and I used it this morning after my run. A frog was using it so Norberto had to come remove it with a rake haha. Other than school, I'm still running almost everyday and I go to the gym every evening. Hockey season seems to be winding down, but I still practice every now and then. Also, I am changing host families in just over 2 weeks. I'm a little nervous since I've really settled into my life here with the Rossi's. But then again it's just another step in my adventure in Argentina so I intend to embrace it.

Friday, November 11, 2011

a BA trip


we got a cake... with our faces on it.

All the inbounds headed to Buenos Aires last weekend to spend some time together and to visit the big city. It was an AMAZING trip. Our inbound coordinator, Miguel, was nice enough to let us all stay at his house in a suburb of BA, so we got to be together all weekend. I took the bus to BA with two other inbounds, Pacome (France) and Anina (Swizterland), who both live about 45 minutes away from me in Junin. Friday was mostly a travel day, we didn’t arrive at Miguel’s until past 9pm. Everyone else was already there, we had dinner and chilled in the enormous rec room/garage. It was like a North American basement rec room with a pool table, fuseball, ping pong, darts, a sound system.. the whole nine yards really. Saturday was our Buenos Aires day. It was a longgggg day; we left around 9:30am and didn’t get back until 11, but it was also extremely entertaining! We started at la Boca and then made our way back through town. Some of the places I’d already been, like the Plaza de Mayo and el Calle Florida, but it was the company that made everything so enjoyable. Around mid day we started to meet up with more and more Rotexes (rebounds). They took us to the oldest cemetery in Buenos Aires, which, trust me, looks nothing like a Canadian cemetery. However it did remind me a lot of the cemeteries mum and dad dragged Tess and me to when we were living Mexico. The graves are more like small housesand I swear half the homeless population of BA could be housed in this cemetery. A number of famous people are buried there, including the great Evita Peron although it was hard to get a good look at her grave/house because it seemed to be the most popular one there. After the cemetery we headed to the Buenos Aires Hard Rock Café, on route to which IT happened. IT is referring to Austin (USA) getting lost. It was a worrisome 20 minutes while the Rotexes frantically searched and called people. But the good news is they found him! He was a little shocked but fine; he’d accidently started following someone he thought was Elise (Belgium) and ended up going the wrong way. So with that panic over, we made our way to the faculty of law (I’m not sure which university it is a part of or if it’s its own school) and then to see the giant metal flower which has solar panels on the inside and closes at night. After another photo shoot at the flower it was on to our last activity of the day – TANGO LESSONS! I must admit I was not stoked in the least. Dancing terrifies me at the best of times, and by this point in the day I was tired, sore, sunburnt and really just wanted to take a nap. However, I ended up having a ton of fun goofing off and learning some basic tango steps. I’m not saying I did them well by any means, but it was a great experience to try something that Argentina is known so well for. The next day we wrapped up the weekend by having an asado (like a bbq) at one of the Rotex’s house. He had a pool so we got to spend the day lazing around, chatting and drink tereré (mate made with cold juice instead of hot water, SO GOOD). It was the perfect ending to end awesome weekend. I fell in love with Buenos Aires and I can’t wait to go back there and spend more time.
Front row seats to BA!

La Boca

The Inbounds rocking Buenos Aires

One of the streets in the cemetary

We got really intense about our tango skills-
me with Dries (Belgium)